How to integrate a new functionality?

Sep 30, 2009 at 7:59 AM

I need to integrate rating system to the Kigg. I don't know wh.ere to start or how to. I don't know the structure because I am new to Unity Framework and Kigg framework. If someone could help me with this, I would really appreciated.

Thank you in advanced.

Oct 1, 2009 at 11:54 AM

Hi

I may help

Do you want to add a rate to each pusblished story?

Who will rate this?

Oct 1, 2009 at 7:11 PM

Yes and each user will rate when they view the story.

Oct 1, 2009 at 7:15 PM

Also the user who is publishing the story.

Each user could rate it only once.

Oct 2, 2009 at 12:03 PM

I would start by adding

- to the story class :

• an INT rate parameter
    This parameter will hold the rate for each story

- to the user classs

• a LIST<Story> ratedStories parameter
    This parameter will hold the list of stories rated by a given user
  • A method we can call RateStory( guid storyId)
    This method will rate a given story according to your logic

You'll need also to add a column Rate to the story table and create another table User_Rates with three columns ( UserId, StoryId, Rate)
Afterwards, You'll need to create a new repository class to access this table
You'lle need also to create an event that when a user rates a story, the whole rate for the story is recalculed

I am also very interested by this subject and I don't know how to communicate to go further on it
Maybe other people are also interested and we can include it to the project itself

Oct 2, 2009 at 5:13 PM

Thank you for the instructions. I will start working on it today. I can give my Skype username so that, everyone could communicate through that and we can join all to participate and ask questions. Let me know what you think.

Oct 3, 2009 at 7:13 AM

Not problem for me (you can email me you skype ID).
A story has a notion of Vote.
I am wondering if this is not very close to what you want to achieve.